Forays into herringbone territory

Right.  So I told my grandmother (whom I live with) that I would knit her a scarf and hat to match it, since she had a very nice cashmere scarf stolen from her last winter.  Winters around the Chicagoland area can get really brutal, and if this winter is going to be as intense as our summer has been, we’re in for a hell of a winter (luckily, I’ll be down in Bloomington, but shhh).

So I went Ravelry cruising for a scarf and came up with one that looked pretty similar to the one she had last year. At this point, I kind of turn into a dumbass. The pattern says, moss stitch for six rows, then herringbone stitch until the scarf is long enough. Voila. And here’s me thinking, But how the hell do you do herringbone? Well. If I’d bothered to scroll down a page more, I would’ve found my answer. But me, being the independent person I am, decided to go out on the net to see how it’s done.

Apparently, authorities differ.

I found four different explanations for herringbone stitch, and none of them were clear on how to actually freaking execute the thing. I’m a fairly visual person and so most of the time I need a video or to watch someone do what it is I’m trying to learn, and me reading about how to execute stitches is Bad News Bears. Oh, and for the record — WHAT is the difference between regular old herringbone and WOVEN herringbone?! Nobody bothered to tell me that either.

But, of course, when I returned to the pattern, frustrated out of my mind… I noticed that there were other pages. And the other pages told me how to do it, very clearly and concisely.

I am st00pid.

SO, for all of you who might be having the same kind of problem I am, here is a very good explanation for the herringbone stitch. Who knows if this is how you do “woven” herringbone or not. I don’t know the difference. Perhaps someone else does?

Herringbone Stitch:

row 1: k2tog, k2, inc1, k2.
row 2: *p
row 3: k2, inc1, k2, k2tog.
row 4: *p

YOU MUST INCREASE AS FOLLOWS:
If you’re a throw knitter.
If you’re a Continental knitter.

Leave a Reply

