Socks, und so weiter

I believe that’s a German phrase for “and so on.” I would check my handy copy of The Time Traveler’s Wife (my favorite book in the whole wide world), but I’ve read that damn thing so many times that I’m pretty sure that I have the entire thing memorized. As well, it’s in my dorm and I am at a Starbucks.

But, anyway. A sock. I have been knitting on a sock for awhile now, and I was going to take a picture for you lovely (possibly nonexistent?) readers with my shitty camera phone, but the light in Starbucks makes my sock look ruby red. And my socks aren’t ruby red… they’re a nice maroon-ish burgundy blue color shift.  So I refrained, because the color distortion was so gross.

I’m working these socks toe-up, because I like the idea of being able to knit until you run out of yarn and being able to try the sock on as you go. I used Knitty’s very lovely example of the Figure-Eight Cast On. It was a little tricky at first, but I got it eventually. I have to say, though, the toe looks a little too pointy for my tastes. I might end up casting on more than eight stitches the next time I try this.

Anyway, things are going spiffy! I’ve come through the hell week called Midterm Week alive, so now I get to bunker down and anticipate True Hell Week called Finals Week in December. But that’s not until December! So adieu for now, and I’ll blog when I can get a good photo of my lovely sock.

Leave a Reply

