Oh yeah, I was supposed to put some pictures up…

PHOTOS. I HAZ THEM! Shot with a non-camera phone, and while the photo quality is still garbage, at least the detail isn’t blurry.

So first, my sock.

SUNSHINE SOCK.

Well, it’s not my sock. It’s technically my good friend Ryan’s sock. Like I said earlier, he’s got some problems with depression. I thought a lovely, sunny yarn would cheer him up a bit and add some color in his life. (Walking on sunshine, anyone?)

Anyway. I turned the heel last night and did the gusset and it is SO MUCH BETTER than the first one. I actually did the first one wrong. This new heel is so lovely and smooth and awesomely done and everything is symmetrical and even and… well. I think you get the idea. First heel sucked, second heel rocks. I’m pretty excited about finishing it, and its brother.

Stranglevine scarf.

Remember the Stranglevine scarf? That’s how long it is, now. I seriously need to finish it, because the Advent Calendar Scarf is totally on my mind, and I want to knit it with some of this:

Lovely 70% merino, 30% silk laceweight.

It’s a lovely, lovely ultramarine blue (which, coincidentally, is its name — Ultramarine). 70% merino, 30% silk, it leaves my fingertips feeling very soft and wonderfully oily… if that makes any sense. There’s a nice oily, and then there’s gross, over-the-top oily… That doesn’t make sense to you? Never mind, then…

Also, next up on the agenda:

Deep green sock yarn.
Lovely variegated deep blue, light blue, blue, purple sock yarn.

Moar socks. I’m knitting socks for Ryan’s entire family, as it turns out (except for his parents, who are getting the Hemlock blanket previously mentioned. We shall not mention more of it now, because it’s being a little disagreeable bitch. I’m 99% sure I’m going to have to start over. I also hate bulky yarn. Anyway). The variegated yarn is actually a lot darker and richer than the photo shows. Photo #1 is pretty accurate on color, but photo #2 is strangely light for some reason. Who knows.

So, that and the blanket which shall not be named comprise my Christmas knitting. And the Advent Calendar Scarf. I’m thinking of knitting the other scarf as opposed to a blanket for my aunt. I don’t think I want to knit another Hemlock. But then, that gives rise to the question of, “What the hell am I going to do with five hanks of toffee colored bulky weight yarn?”

Leave a Reply

