I love color (or, Goodbye 2010)

Today, I was working on the Sunshine socks. I have a myriad of things to say about the second sock, mostly in the ballpark of that the second sock is naught but lies and deceit. It really is. The stitches lie to me, they slip, the gusset has been uncharacteristically tricky, etc. But, when I was working on them today, I had quite the revelation about part of the reason why I love yarn so much. It’s because I love color to an extreme degree.

Color is wonderful, fascinating, vivid, and really, I guess I love anything that engages the senses. My favorite food in Indian food, my favorite music is anything that makes me want to dance, my favorite smells are intense citrus, and my eyes love to feast on colors and designs that use colors (Gustav Klimt, anyone?). Today I was admiring my sock yarn, ripped back and loosely wound in gloriously springy and squooshy little rounds, all golden and lovely. The beauty of it struck me. Working with yarn as it flows through your fingers and onto the needles is working with a pure manifestation of color, as much so as working with paints or other artistic mediums. This delights me in the deepest and most simplistic sense.

I’m off to go collect lovely yarns, now. I already got a head start!

null
null

Seen above: delicious, delicious DK weight alpaca of about 665 yds, and its companion, two skeins of 440 yds sock yarn! Lovely, lovely. I got them as late Christmas presents. My friend got an entire bag full of beautiful Manos wool in various variegated colorways. I’m exceedingly jealous.

It’s about two hours until the new year, here. I think I’m going to add a sidebar tomorrow of Finished 2011 projects!

Leave a Reply

