O, happy day!

Yarn, books, and finished objects. Is there anything better?

I’ve been staying with my friend for a few days, and today I had the great pleasure to take a little daytrip to Princeton, NJ. Yep, the Princeton that’s home to Princeton University. It was a nice, quaint little town, and the scenery driving there looked something like this from my vantage point:

There was a better shot opportunity a little further back, on top of a giant hill and the country scenery just spread out for miles and miles. It was very beautiful and awe-inspiring, so much so that I could only sit there and go, “Ooooooh…” And I, quite the novice photographer who’s not used to having a camera or taking any sort of pictures whatsoever, didn’t think to snap a photo until it was too late. I had to wait for the next hill, which wasn’t nearly as impressive as the last. The country around here really gives you a feel for amber waves of grain. Very hilly, very farmlike, very scenic. Absolutely beautiful. I love the east coast.

Princeton was a lovely, quaint little town (then again, most towns here are the definition of quaint). Nice coffeehouses, nice shops, and a bookstore that instilled a serious case of booklust in me. I walked away with only one book, but I wanted to buy twenty others. If you’re ever in Princeton, you have to go check out Labyrinth Books. Super serious awesome stuff is in there.

One of the things on the agenda was, of course, to go check out the local yarn store, Pins & Needles. My friend here is a budding knitter and knit me a very lovely alpaca scarf for Christmas, so he knows the importance of visiting yarn shops. He makes quite the travel companion. But woe was us, because we walked into the yarn shop literally five minutes before it closed! I was only able to grab a quick skein of sock yarn…

But in retrospect, the choice was easy. It’s so gorgeous. Lovely, lovely Misti Alpaca sock yarn, in colorway “Seattle.” 50% alpaca, 30% merino, 10% silk and 10% nylon. My fingers are already itching to get a sock on the needles with this luscious beauty, but I’m saving it for a special occasion.

That would have been enough to make my day, but after we got home, I took a nap, and had MOAR INDIAN FOOD for dinner…

That’s right. Finished. I’m slightly worried, because instead of feeling the usual finished-object fondess over these socks, I’m feeling hostile domination. The second sock fought every stitch of the way and created more problems for me than I’d like to admit. I feel like finishing these socks at all was a giant “FUCK YOU” to the sock that tried to one-up me. But they’re finished, and even though they’re too big, the recipient loves them to pieces. So I guess that’s what matters, right?

Knit with KnitPicks Stroll Kettle Dyed Sock yarn, in colorway gold. Pretty good for the price. Nice and squooshy, didn’t really split too much. I’d knit with it again, but the kettle dyed yarn seems to be discontinued.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to start some Blackrose socks with some lovely Jojoland Melody.

Leave a Reply

