Well, maybe not

Looks like the Self-Imposed Sock Club around here might be a flop right on its first month. I’m certainly not going to be able to get the Monkey socks done by, oh… Monday? It’s not happening. I’m not even done with my aunt’s Blackrose socks. It’s mostly because I don’t like the way the yarn feels, but also equal parts college stress.

And it doesn’t look like it’s going to be any better, because I found out this past Wednesday that my stepmother passed away. So I’m home for the time being, helping my father and looking after my sister while he and my grandmother get everything straightened out. It was completely unexpected and struck very quickly, and all of us are in shock. My friend is a saint — she drove all the way from our hometown down to my university to pick me up and take me home (a four hour drive just one way), and I didn’t even ask her to. Everyone has been exceedingly helpful and wonderful and understanding during this time.

I’m going to knit her a pair of socks, methinks, in that beautiful Seattle colorway from Misti Alpaca. It’s a lovely yarn that’s every color of the rainbow, except it’s nice and muted, not garish. Well, you’ve seen the pictures. Hopefully these will get done because they’re zombie knitting and I’m in love with the yarn. I purposefully picked the best of what I had from my sock yarn for her.

I’ll be back at school on Sunday evening, however, and I’m going to try and start knitting a whole bunch again. I realized a few days ago that since I’ve been back I’ve barely knit a stitch. Yuck.

One response to “Well, maybe not

  1. So sorry about your loss. Wishing you comfort for you and your family.

    I think a hand-knit sock would be a lovely gesture for your friend. The knitting may even soothe you.

Leave a Reply

